Windfall and beetroot

Standard

So here is a little something I made.

Jam

JAM!

Mr Interruptible’s Gran gave us a large bag of windfall apples a week or two before Christmas.   So when I picked the bag up and realised it was leaking and smelled of cider I thought I better do something quick.

Windfalls

We sorted the bad from the very bad and then I made jam!

It’s really tasty.  I’ve been spreading it on toast  or stirring into plain yogurt.  There is a sort of recipe below

Recipe

1.25 kilos peeled and finely choped Windfalls apples ( After listening to GQT on the 6 of Jan  http://www.bbc.co.uk/podcasts/series/gqt I believe that they are cider apples)

1 beetroot peeled and choped

300 gramms castor sugar

some cinnamon and nutmeg

a splash of water

Put all the ingredents in to a heavy pot ( I used the one in the first photo) boil for about 1 hour

Reduce heat and simmer for 3-4 hours with lid on

Remove  lid,  turn the heat up for about 40 minutes and stir with a whisk ever couple of minutes

When smooth and jam like put it in a jar

So that’s it the first one done!  I’m going to try to get more crafty things up and happening.    Also really trying to get to grips with the camera and stuff.

In jam

Instantly X

Leave a Reply

